Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

WMSC decisions; and Button sets pace at Jerez

As previously reported here, The FIA approved changes the the point structure for the 2009 season, which will now award the championship to the driver with the most wins, regardless of the point total.

Second and beyond will continue to be determined by the 10-8-6 point system, FOTA’s recommended 12-9-7 alternative being voted down.

European Formula One Grand Prix: Race

Also at its meeting Tuesday, the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council made decisions regarding testing, media access and formally approved the Brawn GP team.

Also, the WMSC announced teams which agree to a $30m cap on costs will be allowed greater freedoms in underbodies, movable wings and engines.

Teams may instead run under the existing rules, which will remain unchanged through 2012.

Read the full text:
World Motor Sport Council - Decisions

Button fastest in Jerez

Jenson Button celebrated Brawn GP’s newfound recognition by putting his BGP 001 at the top of the sheets Tuesday in Jerez, posting a best time of 1:17.844 over 114 laps.

Nico Rosberg was second for Williams, and Nelson Piquet third on Renault’s final day of testing before Melbourne.

Testing continues Wednesday.

Tuesday -- Jerez:
  1. Jenson Button, Brawn BGP 001, 1:17.844
  2. Nico Rosberg, Williams FW31, 1:18.071
  3. Nelson Piquet, Renault R29, 1:18.382
  4. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren MP4-24, 1:19.121
Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


No comments:

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.