Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Button dominates in Monaco

Jenson Button was in a world of his own Sunday, taking the lead at the start and winning the Monaco Grand Prix in comfortable fashion.

The win gives Button 51 points on the season, 16 clear of teammate Rubens Barrichello, who finished second. More importantly, his lead over Sebastian Vettel in the championship is 28 points. In what is becoming a runaway Constructors race, the Brawn GP team now has a 43.5 point edge on second place Red Bull Racing.

F1 Grand Prix of Monaco - Race

And so the gap grows for Red Bull. Webber took a hard-fought fifth, while Vettel crashed at Ste Devote on Lap 15. Meanwhile, Kimi Raikkonen, his KERS-aided Ferrari beaten off the line by both Brawn cars, finished third, while teammate Felipe Massa held off Mark Webber to take fourth as Ferrari continue to scrabble its way up the table.

Nico Rosberg, Fernando Alonso and Sebastien Bourdais rounded out the points scorers. Just outside the points was Giancarlo Fisichella in the Force India, a team that put in a stellar weekend and really deserved to come out of it with a point.

Besides Vettel, others to be reminded of Monaco’s unforgiving nature were Heikki Kovalainen and Kazuki Nakajima. Another unforgiving nature belonged to Nelson Piquet, who lashed out at "young drivers" after rookie Sebastien Buemi ran into the back of his Renault. Nelshino was perhaps a bit less than charitable when interviewed during the race by BBC Radio 5 Live.

“It was stupid accident, these young drivers need to calm down, Buemi just slammed right into the back of me. These young drivers do these kind of silly mistakes they knew there was a lot of traffic in front and they knew we had to all slow down - they need to calm down.”

It was a tough day for Lewis Hamilton, who is continuing to see how the other half lives. Buried in the back after his qualifying shunt, the Briton made contact with the barrier at Ste Devote on lap ten and the best he could do was twelfth.

And poor old Robert Kubica retired with mechanical issues.

So as Jenson Button jogged to the podium after mistakenly parking his car in the wrong parc ferme area, he found himself the winner of F1's crown jewel race with a championship that is his to lose, his only real challenge looking to be from Barrichello. Next up, Istanbul, and a chance to make it seven from eight.

Grand Prix De Monaco (78 laps)
  1. Jenson Button, Brawn-Mercedes
  2. Rubens Barrichello, Brawn - Mercedes
  3. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
  4. Felipe Massa, Ferrari
  5. Mark Webber, RedBull - Renault
  6. Nico Rosberg, Williams - Toyota
  7. Fernando Alonso, Renault
  8. Sebastien Bourdais, Toro Rosso - Ferrari
  9. Giancarlo Fisichella, Force India-Mercedes
  10. Timo Glock, Toyota 1 lap
  11. Nick Heidfeld, BMW Sauber 1 lap
  12. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren - Mercedes 1 lap
  13. Jarno Trulli, Toyota 1 lap
  14. Adrian Sutil, Force India - Mercedes 1 lap
  15. Kazuki Nakajima, Williams - Toyota 2 laps
  • Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren - Mercedes, Accident
  • Robert Kubica, BMW Sauber, Brakes
  • Sebastian Vettel, RedBull - Renault, Accident
  • Nelson Piquet, Renault, Accident damage
  • Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso - Ferrari, Accident

Agreement reached?

The sides are closer to a deal over the future of the sport, it is being reported, with the teams and Max Mosley agreed to the framework of a compromise on the budget cap.

The BBC reports a 45m Euro cap (not to be called a cap) will be delayed until 2011, Mosley has made concessions in governance, and teams may also receive more money from Bernie Ecclestone.

All parties seem to agree for the need to cut costs, but central to much of the opposition was the heavy-handed way the regulations were pushed through, a power Mosley has had since the Concorde Agreement lapsed in 2007.

It is believed among the concessions is a return to the days of the F1 Commission, when everyone sat down to hash out the rules.

So is everyone a winner? Max gets his cost cuts, FOTA gets back into the rules making, and Bernie maybe finally gets his Concorde Agreement signed? That’s what its meant to look like, anyway.

Castroneves wins Indianapolis 500

Helio Castroneves won his third Indy 500 ahead of Dan Wheldon and Danica Patrick.


SpeedRead's on Facebook - Become a fan!
Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Hmm.. calm down. Good idea, Nelson. Start any time.

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.