Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Raikkonen holds off Fisi for Belgian win

Kimi Raikkonen got the win, but Giancarlo Fisichella was the hero in Sunday’s Belgian Grand Prix.

F1 Grand Prix of Belgium - Race

The Italian led in his Force India at the start, but a first lap accident that claimed Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton, Romain Grosjean and Jaime Alguersuari brought out the safety car.

Raikkonen, in second, used his KERS to give him a boost on the restart to get past. The Finn was able to hold onto the lead for the win, despite the Force India looking to be the faster car.

It was a woeful day for the points leaders. Sebastian Vettel was the lead contender to score points, finishing in third. Rubens Barrichello had a terrible start, only saved by Brawns decision to fuel him long when the safety car appeared. He finished seventh. Mark Webber looked strong until a penalty for unsafe release after his first stop dropped him out of the points.

On a day that started so poorly for Jenson Button, he looks to have escaped again with his lead relatively intact. Button sits on 74 points to Barrichello’s 56. Vettel leapfrogged Webber into third.

In the constructors’, Brawn have 128 to Red Bull’s 104.5. Ferrari is best of the rest with 56 points.

Oh, and Luca Badoer was last for Ferrari, with rumors are still running rampant Fisichella will be in for his countryman at Monza.

Belgian Grand Prix (44 laps)
  1. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
  2. Giancarlo Fisichella, Force India-Mercedes
  3. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull-Renault
  4. Robert Kubica, BMW Sauber
  5. Nick Heidfeld, BMW Sauber
  6. Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren-Mercedes
  7. Rubens Barrichello, Brawn-Mercedes
  8. Nico Rosberg, Williams-Toyota
  9. Mark Webber, Red Bull-Renault
  10. Timo Glock, Toyota
  11. Adrian Sutil, Force India-Mercedes
  12. Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso-Ferrari
  13. Kazuki Nakajima, Williams-Toyota
  14. Luca Badoer, Ferrari
  • Fernando Alonso, Renault, 26 laps completed, Wheel
  • Jarno Trulli, Toyota, 21 laps completed, Brakes
  • Jenson Button, Brawn-Mercedes, Accident
  • Romain Grosjean, Renault, Accident
  • Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes, Accident
  • Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso-Ferrari, Accident


Giedo van der Garde jumped from third to first at the start and held on to win race 2 for iSport in GP2 action in Belgium. Roldan Rodriguez was second and Diego Nunes third. Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


No comments:

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.