Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Hamilton wins in Singapore, Button closes in on title

Lewis Hamilton won the race, but Jenson Button made the most from a bad starting position to gain a point on teammate Rubens Barrichello in the race for the championship.

F1 Grand Prix of Singapore - Race

Hamilton drove a near perfect race, leading from the start and only relinquishing that lead to pit.

Timo Glock was second in the Toyota, while Fernando Alonso delivered what must be a most welcome third for Renault.

Jenson Button led the Brawns in fifth, a remarkable recovery after Saturday’s disastrous qualifying, and his best result in some time. Teammate Barrichello was sixth. Both were well short of the podium, but their nearest challengers suffered their own share of problems.

Sebastian Vettel pressured Hamilton early, but the German suffered a drive-through penalty for speeding in the pitlane after his second stop. Instead of a major points haul, his fourth place did little to boost his challenge.

Mark Webber’s race was filled with disappointment, having to hand back a great start after it was ruled he went wide on the maneuver, then crashing out after a brake failure.

It was an eventful race overall, with a safety car due to Adrian Sutil driving into Nick Heidfeld after spinning (a move which earned him a fine), Nico Rosberg running as high as second before a penalty for crossing the white line exiting the pits, and Jaime Alguesuari leaving his pit stall early with the rig attached.

Button now leads Barrichello 84-69 in the drivers’ championship. Brawn GP leads Red Bull 153-110.5 in the constructors’ battle. Just three races to go, with practice for the Japanese Grand Prix a little less than four days away.

Singapore Grand Prix -- 61 laps
  1. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes
  2. Timo Glock, Toyota
  3. Fernando Alonso, Renault
  4. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull - Renault
  5. Jenson Button, Brawn - Mercedes
  6. Rubens Barrichello, Brawn - Mercedes
  7. Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren - Mercedes
  8. Robert Kubica, BMW Sauber
  9. Kazuki Nakajima, Williams - Toyota
  10. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
  11. Nico Rosberg, Williams - Toyota
  12. Jarno Trulli, Toyota
  13. Giancarlo Fisichella, Ferrari
  14. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Force India-Mercedes
  • Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso-Ferrari, 14 laps
  • Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso-Ferrari, 14 laps
  • Mark Webber, Red Bull-Renault, 16 laps
  • Adrian Sutil, Force India-Mercedes, 38 laps
  • Nick Heidfeld, BMW Sauber, 42 laps
  • Romain Grosjean, Renault, 58 lap

Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


No comments:

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.