Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Friday, September 11, 2009

Sutil's turn: Force India tops Monza practice

Even without Giancarlo Fisichella, Force India was once again at the top of the sheets as Adrian Sutil edged Lewis Hamilton's morning mark in the second session Friday at Monza.

F1 Grand Prix of Italy - Practice

Hamilton and teammate Heikki Kovalainen put together a McLaren 1-2 in the morning, while Sutil was third.

The afternoon saw Sutil lead home the Renaults of Romain Grosjean and Fernando Alonso.

Trying to determine what this means for qualifying, however, is a bit of a crapshoot.

Jenson Button had a decent morning, but was 19th in the afternoon. Teammate Rubens Barrichello was outside the top ten in both sessions. For Red Bull, Mark Webber ran in the midfield, while Sebastian Vettel was once again in engine conservation mode and saw limited running.

Guess we'll have to wait and see what happens tomorrow. It should prove interesting.

First session
  1. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes 1:23.936
  2. Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren-Mercedes 1:24.332
  3. Adrian Sutil, Force India-Mercedes 1:24.471
  4. Fernando Alonso, Renault 1:24.477
  5. Nick Heidfeld, BMW Sauber 1:24.683
  6. Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:24.703
  7. Jenson Button, Brawn-Mercedes 1:24.706
  8. Giancarlo Fisichella, Ferrari 1:24.732
  9. Mark Webber, Red Bull-Renault 1:24.759
  10. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari 1:24.761
  11. Robert Kubica, BMW Sauber 1:24.813
  12. Rubens Barrichello, Brawn-Mercedes 1:24.826
  13. Nico Rosberg, Williams-Toyota 1:24.927
  14. Kazuki Nakajima, Williams-Toyota 1:25.150
  15. Romain Grosjean, Renault 1:25.612
  16. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Force India-Mercedes 1:25.689
  17. Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:25.742
  18. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull-Renault 1:25.951
  19. Jarno Trulli, Toyota 1:26.020
  20. Timo Glock, Toyota 1:26.325

Second session
  1. Adrian Sutil, Force India-Mercedes 1:23.924
  2. Romain Grosjean, Renault, 1:24.163
  3. Fernando Alonso, Renault, 1:24.297
  4. Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren-Mercedes 1:24.482
  5. Robert Kubica, BMW Sauber 1:24.622
  6. Timo Glock, Toyota, 1:24.634
  7. Nick Heidfeld, BMW Sauber 1:24.693
  8. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 1:24.796
  9. Kazuki Nakajima, Williams-Toyota 1:24.799
  10. Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:24.884
  11. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes 1:24.902
  12. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Force India-Mercedes 1:24.921
  13. Jarno Trulli, Toyota, 1:24.967
  14. Mark Webber, Red Bull-Renault 1:24.979
  15. Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:25.003
  16. Rubens Barrichello, Brawn-Mercedes 1:25.140
  17. Nico Rosberg, Williams-Toyota 1:25.215
  18. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull-Renault 1:25.386
  19. Jenson Button, Brawn-Mercedes 1:25.424
  20. Giancarlo Fisichella, Ferrari, 1:25.543


Renault sues the Piquets

Renault released a statement saying while have not publicly commented regarding the FIA's investigation into events surrounding the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix, the team have "commenced criminal proceedings against Nelson Piquet Junior and Nelson Piquet Senior in France concerning the making of false allegations and a related attempt to blackmail the team into allowing Mr Piquet Jnr to drive for the remainder of the 2009 season."

The matter is also being referred to the police in the UK

Schumacher extends contract

Michael Schumacher and Ferrari announced the seven-time world champion has extended his consulting contract with the team for three more years.

Schumacher's statement

Ferrari's statement

Yesterday, Ferrari announced a sponsoring agreement with Santander. You can watch a video of the news conference on the Ferrari Web site.

Today, Luca di Montezemolo moved to deflect the latest round of Alonso to Ferrari rumors. Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


No comments:

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.