Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Sunday, June 27, 2010

It's Vettel in Valencia

Sebastian Vettel twice held off challenges by Lewis Hamilton to win the European Grand Prix, while a spectacular accident by teammate Mark Webber brought out the safety car and shuffled the field.

June 27, 2010 - 06096996 date 27 06 2010 Copyright imago Crash Media Group Race Sebastian Vettel ger Red Bull Racing RB6 Race WINNER European Grand Prix Valencia 24 27 June 2010 PUBLICATIONxNOTxINxUK motor aviation men Formula 1 F1 F World Cup GP Europe Valencia Vdig xsk 2010 horizontal Highlight premiumd.

After a terrible start that dropped him from second to ninth, and an early pitstop, Webber ran into the back of Heikki Kovalainen's Lotus, somersaulting in the air and coming to rest against the tire barrier. In a testament to the safety of the modern F1 car, Webber walked away.

June 27, 2010 - Valencia, C. VALENCIANA, Spain - epa02226579 Australian Formula One driver Mark Webber of Red Bull Racing, who survived a spectacular, death-defying crash early in the European Grand Prix, gestures as he watches the FIFA World Cup quarterfinal match between England and Germany in the team's hospitality area at the Valencia Street Circuit, in Valencia, Spain, 27 June 2010.

Big losers as a result of the safety car were Michael Schumacher and the Ferraris, all victims of traffic trying to emerge from the pits. Hamilton avoided that result, but overtook the safety car as it emerged from the pitlane, leading to a drive-through penalty which dropped the McLaren driver from second to...second.

It was pretty much sealed as a two-man race after the safety car cleared, as Sauber's Kamui Kobayashi chose not to stop and found himself in third, the rest of the field, led by eventual third place finisher Jenson Button, stacked up behind him.

Kobayashi would finish seventh with a pair of great passes on new rubber on the final two laps, a great result for Sauber, while Rubens Barrichello delivered a fourth for Williams.

Post-race investigations also added five seconds to the times of Button, Barrichello, Nico Hulkenberg, Robert Kubica, Vitaly Petrov, Adrian Sutil, Vitantonio Liuzzi, Sebastien Buemi and Pedro de la Rosa for speeding under the safety car.

Additionally, Timo Glock had 20 seconds added to his time for ignoring blue flags.

In the end, Fernando Alonso moved up to eighth ahead of Buemi, and Nico Rosberg to tenth ahead of De la Rosa.

Next up: Silverstone.

  1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull-Renault 1:40:29.571
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren +00:05.042
  3. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 00:12.658
  4. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams-Cosworth 00:25.627
  5. Robert Kubica (Poland) Renault 00:27.122
  6. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India-Mercedes00:30.168
  7. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) BMW Sauber-Ferrari 00:30.965
  8. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 00:32.809
  9. Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 00:36.299
  10. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 00:44.382
  11. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:46.621
  12. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) BMW Sauber-Ferrari 00:47.414
  13. Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 00:48.239
  14. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Renault 00:48.287
  15. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 00:48.826
  16. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Force India-Mercedes00:50.890
  17. Lucas Di Grassi (Brazil) Virgin - Cosworth 1 lap
  18. Karun Chandhok (India) HRT - Cosworth 2 laps
  19. Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin - Cosworth 2 laps
  20. Bruno Senna (Brazil) HRT - Cosworth 2 laps
  21. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus - Cosworth 4 laps
  • Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Williams - Cosworth 8 laps
  • Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus - Cosworth 49 laps
  • Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 49 laps

Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


No comments:

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.