Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Home win for Ferrari, Alonso back in the hunt

MONZA, ITALY - SEPTEMBER 12: Fernando Alonso of Spain and Ferrari celebrates with team mates on the podium after winning the Italian Formula One Grand Prix at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza on September 12, 2010 in Monza, Italy. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)

Fernando Alonso rejuvenated his title hopes and gave Ferrari a win at home in Sunday's Italian Grand Prix, outpitting McLaren and Jenson Button, who finished second.

It was a disaterous day for Lewis Hamilton, who made contact with Felipe Massa at the start and brought his day to an early end. Massa would finish on the podium in third.

Hamilton's pain was only made worse by the fact Mark Webber had another terrible start, battling all day to finish sixth, yet the Australian still leads the championship by five points.

Sebastian Vettel finish fourth in the best of the Red Bulls, despite a scare with the engine.

Just 24 points separate the top five drivers with just five to go. In the constructors race, Red Bull holds a slim three point edge on McLaren.

Ferrari Formula One driver Fernando Alonso (L) of Spain leads McLaren Formula One driver Jenson Button (C) of Britain and his team mate Felipe Massa of Brazil on his way to win the Italian F1 Grand Prix at the Monza circuit September 12, 2010. REUTERS/Giampiero Sposito (ITALY - Tags: SPORT MOTOR RACING)

  1. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1hr 16mins 24.572secs
  2. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren +00:02.938
  3. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:04.223
  4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 00:28.196
  5. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 00:29.942
  6. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 00:31.276
  7. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Williams - Cosworth 00:32.812
  8. Robert Kubica (Poland) Renault 00:34.028
  9. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 00:44.948
  10. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams - Cosworth 01:04.213
  11. Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 01:05.056
  12. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Force India-Mercedes 01:06.106
  13. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Renault 01:18.919
  14. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) BMW Sauber - Ferrari 1 lap
  15. Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1 lap
  16. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 1 lap
  17. Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin - Cosworth 2 laps
  18. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus - Cosworth 2 laps
  19. Sakon Yamamoto (Japan) HRT - Cosworth 2 laps
  20. Lucas Di Grassi (Brazil) Virgin - Cosworth 3 laps
  • Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus - Cosworth 7 laps
  • Bruno Senna (Brazil) HRT - Cosworth 42 laps
  • Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 53 laps
  • Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) BMW Sauber - Ferrari 53 laps

Italian Grand Prix - selected team & driver quotes

FIA post-race press conference - Italy

Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


No comments:

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.