Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Japan: Qualifying

Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber once again combined to lock up the front row for today's Japanese Grand Prix, which starts in just a couple of hours, while Robert Kubica put in a stunner to pip Fernando Alonso.

(L-R) Red Bull Formula One driver Mark Webber of Australia, Red Bull Formula One driver Sebastian Vettel of Germany and McLaren Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton of Britain celebrate after the qualifying session at Japanese F1 Grand Prix at the Suzuka circuit October 10, 2010. Vettel qualified first, Webber second and Hamilton third. Hamilton's Japanese Grand Prix nightmare intensified on Saturday when McLaren said their Formula One title contender would have a five-place penalty on the starting grid for a gearbox change. REUTERS/Issei Kato (JAPAN - Tags: SPORT MOTOR RACING)

Lewis Hamilton faces a five-spot penalty for a gearbox change and will start in at least eighth. A complaint from Williams that Hamilton blocked Nico Hulkenberg in the shootout is currently being brought to the stewards, so watch this space.

Alonso will receive no help from teammate Felipe Massa, who failed to make the top 10.

The wild card is Jenson Button, who chose to qualify on the prime tire, thus getting to use the softer compound once the track has rubbered in in the later stages of the race.

Qualifying result
  1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 1:30.785
  2. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1:30.853
  3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:31.169
  4. Robert Kubica (Poland) Renault 1:31.231
  5. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1:31.352
  6. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:31.378
  7. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:31.494
  8. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams - Cosworth 1:31.535
  9. Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Williams - Cosworth 1:31.559
  10. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1:31.846
  11. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber - Ferrari 1:32.187
  12. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:32.321
  13. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Renault 1:32.422
  14. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) BMW Sauber - Ferrari 1:32.427
  15. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 1:32.659
  16. Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:33.071
  17. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Force India - Mercedes 1:33.154
  18. Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:33.568
  19. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus - Cosworth 1:35.346
  20. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus - Cosworth 1:35.464
  21. Lucas Di Grassi (Brazil) Virgin - Cosworth 1:36.265
  22. Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin - Cosworth 1:36.332
  23. Bruno Senna (Brazil) HRT - Cosworth 1:37.270
  24. Sakon Yamamoto (Japan) HRT - Cosworth 1:37.365

Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


No comments:

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.