Welcome to the SpeedRead archive

You have reached the SpeedRead archive. To the right, you can look up all posts from 2008 to July, 2014.If you have come here looking for the SpeedRead website, it has moved to speedread.us

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Australia: Qualifying

Sebastian Vettel picked up where he left off, taking pole by a wide margin over Lewis Hamilton, while Hamilton proved McLaren had found speed in the car by edging Vettel's Red Bull teammate for second on the grid.

Red Bull Formula One driver Sebastian Vettel of Germany celebrates after claiming the pole position of the Australian F1 Grand Prix at the Albert Park circuit in Melbourne March 26, 2011. REUTERS/Daniel Munoz (AUSTRALIA - Tags: SPORT MOTOR RACING)


Mark Webber stars third.

Jenson Button beat out Fernando Alonso for fourth, while Vitaly Petrov starts a surprising sixth in the Renault.

Other notables included Nico Rosberg once again outqualifying Michael Schumacher; Sergio Perez, Paul di Resta and Pastor Maldonado looking solid in their debut efforts; and Lotus, Virgin and HRT in their usual places. But there is a new twist to that last one: both HRTs fell outside the 107 percent rule, and will not race Sunday.

A photographer with a sticker 'Save Japan' on his lens takes photos in front of the garage from Red Bull Racing during third practice session at Albert Park street circuit in Melbourne, Australia, 26 March 2011. The 2011 Formula 1 Grand Prix of Australia kicks off the 2011 season on 27 March 2011. Photo: Jens Buettner



  1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 1min 23.529 seconds
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:24.307
  3. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 1:24.395
  4. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:24.779
  5. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1:24.974
  6. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Renault 1:25.247
  7. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:25.421
  8. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:25.599
  9. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber 1:25.626
  10. Sebastien Buemi (Switzerland) Toro Rosso 1:27.066
  11. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1:25.971
  12. Jaime Alguersuari (Spain) Toro Rosso 1:26.103
  13. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber 1:26.108
  14. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 1:26.739
  15. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1:26.768
  16. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 1:31.407
  17. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Williams no time
  18. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) Renault 1:27.239
  19. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Lotus 1:29.254
  20. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Lotus 1:29.342
  21. Timo Glock (Germany) Virgin 1:29.858
  22. Jerome d'Ambrosio (Belgium) Virgin 1:30.822
  • nq. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) HRT 1:32.978
  • nq. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT 1:34.293

Don't miss the top stories of the day, subscribe to the SpeedRead Web newspaper now! -- Email SpeedRead -- Learn more about author C.D. Six


No comments:

Original content copyright © 2008-2014 C.D. Six. All Rights Reserved.

Please do not use original content or images without the author's permission.